CARES® Dementia Certification™

(Included at no additional cost with qualifying CARES® Online Training Programs)

What is CARES® Dementia Certification™?

CARES Dementia Certification recognizes and tests a user’s dementia understanding and dementia care knowledge from the Alzheimer’s Association Dementia Care Practice Recommendations and published CARES research studies of select CARES online dementia care training programs.

CARES Dementia Certification is optional and is included at no additional cost with the purchase of qualifying CARES online training programs. Successful completion of the exam recognizes users for being educated about dementia and for being trained in person-centered dementia care practices using the CARES® Approach.

Organizations are encouraged to advertise their use of CARES certification to help promote their businesses.

How do I get CARES® Dementia Certified?

  • Complete a qualifying CARES online training program*.
  • Take the certification exam from the program Main Menu.
  • Pass the exam with a score of 80% or higher.
  • Print your Certification Certificate.

*Qualifying CARES Online Training Programs Include:

  • CARES Dementia 5-Step Method
  • CARES Dementia Dementia Safety Topics
  • CARES Dementia-Related Behavior
  • CARES Activities of Daily Living 4-Hour
  • CARES Activities of Daily Living 10-Hour
  • CARES End-of-Life Dementia Care
  • CARES Serious Mental Illness
  • CARES Elder Abuse Awareness and Prevention
  • CARES Dementia 5-Step Method for Hospitals
  • CARES Dementia 5-Step Method for Families

Earn Certifications in 10 Different Topic Areas


Of users found that CARES® gave them new ideas on how to care for someone with memory loss or dementia

Over 1.5 Million

Modules Completed


Of users feel more confident in caring for someone with dementia than they did before completing CARES®


Only Online Dementia Care Training recognized by CMS

Who Should be

Everyone has a role in providing person-centered dementia care. HealthCare Interactive encourages all staff members in an organization get trained and certified—CNAs, HHAs, food service, housekeeping, receptionists, hairdressers, maintenance, nursing staff, social workers, activity professionals, volunteers, and even administrators.